||As part of our continuing commitment to
renewable resources, Duffield Associates relocated to our Wilmington
property and landmark farm buildings in 1980. Our Barn, portions of
which predate 1800, was first renovated into office space in 1984,
expanded and further renovated in 1995 and again in 1998. In all of
the renovations, our goal has been to beneficially use the property
while preserving the agricultural past of the Mill Creek Hundred.
Documents show that buildings existed on the property since the
1860's, but the barn may have predated 1800. (It was totally rebuilt
in 1932, except for some foundations.) Although we don't know the
exact succession of ownership, we do know that the land was acquired
by Wilhelmina DuPont Ross who owned the surrounding land now known
as Limestone Hills.
In the 1930's, the property was passed on to the owners of Delaware
Park, the John Ross family, who used the land for farming, the barn
for horse stables, and the farmhouse as a home for a horse trainer.
Prior to our occupancy, the New Castle County Historical Preservation
Board designated the farmhouse, barn, and accompanying land as "historically
Today, our property stands as a reminder to our community that
history can be an integral part of carefully planned growth.
1982 Aerial Photo
Other 1982 Photos
2005 Aerial Photo
History of Duffield Associates' Barn
and Farmhouse (PDF)